Election Information

The City of Travelers Rest is governed by Travelers Rest City Council, with registered voters in the city’s boundary electing a councilmember every four years (unless circumstances create the need for a special election) to represent the City at large. The City has a Municipal Election Commission for City oversight in conjunction with County operations of the Election.  Commissioners include Chair Debra Wilson, Nathan Stock and Dave Smits.

At-Large Offices
The Mayor serves a four-year term and is elected through a citywide election as he or she represents all districts.

City of Travelers Rest municipal elections are non-partisan – ballots list candidates but no declared affiliation with a political party.

Voters may also be called upon to determine an issue of importance to the city through a referendum.

The City election is held every other year.



City of Travelers Rest Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, November 2, 2021. Candidates for City Council shall announce their candidacy by filing a notice of candidacy with the Municipal City Clerk. Filing for candidacy shall open at noon on July 15, 2021 and filing will close at noon on August 16, 2021. Candidates shall be required to pay a filing fee of 5% of the annual salary of the office they are seeking. Mayor fee $240.00 and Council fee is $180.00 payable to The city of Travelers Rest. Candidates must be a resident of the City of Travelers Rest and a registered voter. To register to vote in this election, please visit the Greenville County Voter Registration Office, the nearest public library, or refer to the website ‘scvotes.org’ for other opportunities to register to vote. For information please call Travelers Rest City Hall – 864-834-8740.

Offices to be filled: Packets for office will be available starting July 15 at City Hall

Mayor- Brandy Amidon

Council – Harvey Choplin

Council – Rick Floyd

Council – Jeff George

Council – Brantly Vest